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Renewal of Licenses and Permits for 2001
It will soon be time to renew your pharmacist license, pharmacy

technician permits, and all facility permits. We are making some
changes this year, and you should read this notice carefully.
♦ License and permit renewals will be mailed out around Decem-

ber 1, 2000, rather than November 15.
♦ There will be no second or third notice.
♦ There will still be a $20 penalty if the license or permit is not

renewed by February 1.
♦ There will still be a $40 penalty if the license or permit is not

renewed by March 1.
♦ A notice will be sent around March 15 to all licensees or permit

holders that have not renewed explaining that the license or
permit will be voided on April 1, if not paid by that date. There
will be no application accompanying this notice.

♦ The license or permit will be voided on April 1, 2001, if the fee
has not been paid.

♦ There will be a place on the pharmacist renewal applications
where pharmacists will list their continuing education (CE) hours
received during the year 2000. This will help pharmacists orga-
nize their CE before mailing in the application. Further, it will
give the Board of Pharmacy office some idea as to where the
pharmacists are obtaining CE. Please note, the usual audit of
about 400 pharmacists will occur after the renewal season.
These pharmacists will be asked to mail in the actual proof of
their CE hours.

♦ If you have not received a renewal application by December
15, 2000, please contact the Board office at 501/682-0190. We
will mail another application to you. It is extremely important
that the license or permit be renewed in a timely manner. We
believe that these changes will help our office process the
applications more efficiently.

Internet Renewals
Good news. The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy, in coop-

eration with the Information Network of Arkansas (INA), has de-
veloped a program whereby you can renew pharmacist licenses,
pharmacy technician permits, hospital pharmacy permits, and re-
tail pharmacy permits on the Internet. We are very excited about
this process.

Our Web site address is www.state.ar.us/asbp. Once you are on

our site, you will go to “licensing information,” where there is a
link called “renewals.” At that link, you will be able to renew and
change some information. A pharmacy will not be able to change
the location of a pharmacy, the pharmacist-in-charge, or the phar-
macy owner over the Internet. However, pharmacists and phar-
macy technicians will be able to update their addresses and make
some other information changes on the application.

There will be a “convenience fee” charged by the INA. It is not
part of the Board’s fee; it goes to INA and the credit card company
as a convenience fee. The fees will be as follows:
♦ pharmacists – $75 renewal plus a $3.25 convenience fee;
♦ pharmacy technicians – $35 renewal plus a $2.05 convenience fee;
♦ pharmacies – $150 renewal plus a $5.50 convenience fee; and
♦ hospital pharmacies – $150 renewal plus a $5.50 convenience fee.

Continuing Education
Please contact Jim Myatt, PD, at the Board of Pharmacy by

phone 501/371-5082, fax 501/682-0195, or at his e-mail address,
james.myatt@mail.state.ar.us, regarding any continuing education
questions you may have. All requests for accreditation of pro-
grams to be presented must be received in writing at the Board of
Pharmacy office at least 15 days prior to the program. Forms re-
questing  Board of Pharmacy approval of continuing live education
programs to be presented are available through the Board office.

The following is a list of University of Arkansas for Medical
Sciences (UAMS) College of Pharmacy Continuing Education Live
Programs available through the end of this year:
♦ November 5:  Family Medical Center, Fayetteville – three credit

hours;
♦ November 5: Helena DHEC, Helena–three credit hours;
♦ November 12:  St. Bernard’s Regional, Jonesboro–three credit

hours.
Space may be limited for some programs. Please contact the

Continuing Education Department, UAMS College of Pharmacy
at 501/686-6484 or 501/686-5396 for more information.

Schedule II Prescription Questions
The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy has received inquires

regarding Schedule II prescriptions written for patients with a ter-
minal illness or in a long-term care facility. The following is the
current Arkansas regulation pertaining to this subject.
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04-04-0002 – Partial Filling of a
Schedule II Prescription

A prescription for a Schedule II controlled substance written
for a patient in a long-term care facility (LTCF), or for a patient with
a medical diagnosis documenting a terminal illness, may be filled
in partial quantities to include individual dosage units. If there is
any question whether a patient may be classified as having a ter-
minal illness, the pharmacist may contact the practitioner prior to
partially filling the prescription. Both the pharmacist and the pre-
scribing practitioner have a corresponding responsibility to as-
sure that the controlled substance is for a terminally ill patient.
The pharmacist must record on the prescription whether the pa-
tient is “terminally ill” or an “LTCF patient.”

For each partial filling, the dispensing pharmacist shall record
on the back of the prescription (or on another appropriate record,
uniformly maintained, and readily retrievable) the date of the par-
tial filling, quantity dispensed, remaining quantity authorized to
be dispensed, and the identification of the dispensing pharmacist.

Prior to any subsequent partial filling, the pharmacist is to
determine that the additional partial filling is necessary. The total
quantity of Schedule II controlled substances dispensed in all
partial fillings must not exceed the total quantity prescribed. A
Schedule II prescription for a patient in an LTCF or with a medical
diagnosis documenting a terminal illness, if partially filled, shall
be totally dispensed within 60 days. Dispensing cannot occur
after 60 days or after the medication has been discontinued by
the prescriber.

07-04-0003 – Computer Records for
Partial Filling

Information pertaining to current Schedule II prescriptions for
patients in a long-term care facility (LTCF) or for patients with a
medical diagnosis documenting a terminal illness may be main-
tained in a computerized system, if the system has the capability
to permit:
♦ Output (display or print) of the original prescription num-

ber, date of issue, identification of prescribing individual
practitioner, identification of patient, address of the LTCF
or address of the hospital or residence of the patient, iden-
tification of medication authorized (to include dosage, form,
strength, and quantity), and listing of the partial fillings
that have been dispensed under each prescription.

♦ Immediate (real time) updating of the prescription record
each time a partial filling of the prescription is conducted.

♦ Retrieval of partially filled Schedule II prescription information is
the same as required for Schedule III and IV prescription refill
information.

The authority to dispense Schedule II prescriptions for partial
quantities does not apply to other classes of patients, such as those
with severe intractable pain who are not diagnosed as terminal.

Correct Procedure for Supplying Schedule II
Controlled Substances

If you are supplying Schedule II controlled substances to a regis-
trant, you may do so only after receiving a Drug Enforcement Ad-
ministration (DEA) Form 222.

The purchaser shall retain copy 3 and submit copy 1 and copy 2
to the supplier. The supplier shall retain copy 1 and forward copy 2 to
the DEA. Copy 2 shall be forwarded at the close of the month during
which the order is filled. The supplier shall record on copies 1 and 2
the number of containers shipped and the date. The supplier shall
file copy 1 with the other completed 222 forms. The purchaser shall
record on copy 3 the number of containers received and the dates
received. It is recommended that the completed copy 3 be attached
to a copy of the invoice, filed separatately, and kept for a period of
two years.

If an order form cannot be filled for any reason, the supplier re-
turns copies 1 and 2 to the registrant that sent the 222 form. If an error
occurs when filling out the form, the word “void” shall be written
across the form. In any case, the DEA requests that you send copy
2 to the DEA office. You can send the form to the Little Rock address
or the New Orleans Division Office at Three Lakeway Center, 3838 N
Causeway Boulevard, Suite 1800, Metairie, LA 70002.


