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Pharmacist License and Other Permit
Renewals

The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy sent out pharmacist and
pharmacy permit renewals during October 2009. While these renew-
als are sent directly to the individual’s mailing address on record,
the Board has had a number of pharmacists who have called saying
that they have not received a renewal notice. In most cases this has
been due to a change of address that the Arkansas State Board of
Pharmacy has not been notified of. This is a violation of pharmacist
registration requirements and may be subject to disciplinary action.
Furthermore, it should be noted that the permits that were not re-
newed expired on December 31, 2009. The Arkansas State Board of
Pharmacy allows a renewal grace period until March 31 on permits;
however, there is a $20 penalty on permit renewals if not renewed by
February 1, a $40 penalty if not before March 1, and if a permit is not
renewed by April 1, then the license or permit is void. This means
that in order to get a pharmacist license reactivated, an individual
must apply for reinstatement and undergo a criminal background
check, which includes fingerprinting and payment of reinstatement
fees. While pharmacists are responsible for keeping their license
current, it is the responsibility of the pharmacist-in-charge of any
pharmacy or other facility to be sure that all employees including
pharmacists, pharmacy interns, and pharmacy technicians have
current licenses in good standing with the Arkansas State Board
of Pharmacy. Any pharmacist who works after April 1, without
renewing his or her pharmacist license will be called before the
Board for disciplinary action. Once again, the best way to renew
your license will be through the Internet. This is the fastest way
to renew your permit and is also the only way to use a credit card
to renew any permit or license with the Arkansas State Board of
Pharmacy. To renew your pharmacist or pharmacy permit, go to the
Board of Pharmacy Web site at www.arkansas.gov/asbp and click
on the heading CURRENT RENEWAL INFORMATION for full
instructions to renew your permit. Please remember to have your
pharmacist or facility license or permit number when calling the
Board office to ensure faster service.

Immunization Certification

As a reminder to Arkansas pharmacists, if you are planning to
administer immunizations and vaccines, or other approved medi-
cations, you must have met all of the requirements set forth in the
statute and Board Regulation 09-00-0002 (b) Authority to admin-
ister medications/immunizations. These requirements must be met

before a pharmacist may administer immunizations and vaccines,
regardless of the route of administration (injectable or inhalation).
The pharmacist must possess a Certification for the Authority to
Administer Medications/Immunizations issued by the Board to be
qualified to accept an Authority to Administer contract with a physi-
cian and must maintain a current certification in Cardiopulmonary
Resuscitation or Basic Cardiac Life Support. The Authority to
Administer Medications/Immunizations expires on the same date
as your pharmacist license and must be renewed each biennium.
The certificate should be displayed in the pharmacy along with
your pharmacist license and must be current in order to administer
any medications.

Additionally, the Authority to Administer is discussed in Board
Regulation 09-00-0002 and ACA §17-92-101 (16) and ACA §17-
92-101 (22) (B). Here are a few things to remember:

¢ The administration of medications shall not include the admin-
istration of medications to any person under the age of 18.

¢ The administration of medications shall be limited to the fol-
lowing classifications of medications: immunizations, vaccines,
allergy medications, vitamins, minerals, antihyperglycemics, and
antinausea medications.

¢ AnAuthority to Administer for immunizations and vaccinations
may be a general protocol.

¢ An Authority to Administer, once granted, is valid for a time
period not to exceed one year.

Please contact the Board office at 501/682-0190 if you have any
questions regarding vaccinations, immunizations, or the Authority
to Administer.

Continuing Education Update

The Board of Pharmacy continuing education (CE) requirements
for the 2010-2011 biennium have been updated and are now in effect
for renewing your pharmacist license that will expire December 31,
2011. During this biennium you must obtain 30 hours of total CE. In
the 30 hours of required CE, 12 hours must be live of any type of CE
(Board-approved or Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education
(ACPE)-approved) and 12 hours must be ACPE-accredited hours.

The individual requirements for 12 live and 12 ACPE require-
ments are not mutually exclusive and as long as in the 30-hour
total, 12 live hours are obtained and 12 hours of the 30 are ACPE-
accredited, the criteria will be met by the pharmacist.
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FDA and ISMP Warn of Potential Medication
Errors for Dosing and Emergency
Compounding of Tamiflu

Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued a Public Health
Alert regarding potential dosing errors with Tamiflu® (oseltamivir)
for oral suspension. While United States prescriptions for liquid
medicines are generally written in milliliters or teaspoons, Tamiflu
is dosed in milligrams and packaged with a dispenser marked in
milligram dosages. Errors where dosing instructions for the patient
do not match the dosing dispenser have been reported to FDA.
FDA advises that providers should write doses in milligrams if the
dosing dispenser with the drug is in milligrams. Pharmacists should
ensure that prescription instructions and the dosing device use the
same unit of measure. More information can be accessed at www
Jda.gov/Safety/MedWatch/SafetyInformation/SafetyAlertsfor
HumanMedicalProducts/ucm183714.htm.

The Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP) issued an
alert to all health care professionals regarding a risk of dosing
errors related to the concentration of pharmacy-compounded
Tamiflu (oseltamivir phosphate) oral suspension being dispensed
due to shortages of the manufacturer’s oral suspension. The
base concentration for the commercially manufactured Tamiflu
oral suspension is 12 mg/mL. The directions for emergency
compounding of Tamiflu oral suspension from Tamiflu powder
capsules result in a 15 mg/mL oseltamivir base concentration.
Incidents have occurred resulting in too large of a dose being
dispensed to children. ISMP advises that prescribers communicate
suspension doses in milligrams rather than by volume, and that,
if experiencing shortages of commercial Tamiflu oral suspension,
pharmacists communicate with area medical practices regarding
the dosage error risk. More information may be found at the ISMP
Web site at www.ismp.org/safetyalerts/20091015-Tamiflu.asp.

FDA Authorization for Use of Outdated
Tamiflu Products Remains in Effect until
April 2010

On October 30, 2009, FDA issued an Emergency Use Au-
thorization (EUA) allowing pharmacists to dispense certain
lots of expired Tamiflu for oral suspension as part of the federal
government’s response to the 2009 HIN1 influenza public health
emergency. The declaration of emergency justifying the EUA re-
mains in effect until April 26,2010, unless it is terminated earlier,
or extended. The authorized lots of Tamiflu for oral suspension,
which were tested through the federal government’s Shelf-Life
Extension Program, are part of the Strategic National Stockpile
and are listed on the FDA Web site at www.fda.gov/NewsEvents/
PublicHealthFocus/ucm154962.htm. Additional information for
health care professionals and the EUA letter are also available on
the FDA Web site.

HIPAA and Quality — The Seven-Year Itch

W This column was prepared by the Institute
ﬁﬁ g for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP). ISMP is
an independent nonprofit agency that analyzes

W@ medication errors, near misses, and potentially
= hazardous conditions as reported by pharmacists
and other practitioners. ISMP then makes appropriate contacts
with companies and regulators, gathers expert opinion about
prevention measures, and publishes its recommendations. 10 read
about the risk reduction strategies that you can put into practice
today, subscribe to ISMP Medication Safety Alert!® Community/
Ambulatory Care Edition by visiting www.ismp.org. ISMP is a

federally certified patient safety organization, providing legal

protection and confidentiality for submitted patient safety data
and error reports. ISMP is also a FDA MedWatch partner. Call
1-800-FAIL-SAF (E) to report medication errors to the ISMP
Medication Errors Reporting Program or report online at www
.ismp.org. ISMP address: 200 Lakeside Dr; Suite 200, Horsham,
PA 19044. Phone: 215/947-7797. E-mail: ismpinfo@ismp.org.

On April 24, 2003, an article in the Wall Street Journal noted
that many health care providers “are going overboard to avoid
violations” of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability
Act (HIPAA) privacy rule, which took effect on April 14 of that
year. In fact, initial concern was that the rule might actually slow
the transfer of protected health information and place patients at
risk for harm, certainly the opposite of HIPAA’s intended goal.

One particularly troubling area of confusion is whether listing
the drug’s intended purpose on a prescription violates the privacy
rule. Initially, numerous organizations reported that physicians
were reluctant to include this crucial information on prescrip-
tions. But according to the US Department of Health and Human
Services (HHS), listing a medication’s purpose or the patient’s
diagnosis on a prescription does not violate the privacy rule.
Although a patient’s diagnosis or purpose for using a medication
would qualify as protected health information, communicating this
information on a prescription does not require separate, special
authorization because the information is used for the purposes of
treating the patient. A violation would occur only if the prescrip-
tion form was then used for a purpose not defined by the HIPAA
privacy rule, such as copying it for a marketing company.

Concerns were also raised that listing a purpose on prescrip-
tions did not meet qualifications of providing only the minimum
amount of information necessary to treat the patient. However, the
“minimum necessary” rule does not apply when protected health
information is disclosed between providers treating the same pa-
tient. ISMP firmly believes that the drug’s intended purpose should
be part of the “minimum amount of information necessary” on a
patient’s prescription. Pharmacists should never be expected to
dispense a medication without knowing its intended use, which is
typically the case in many community pharmacies. Knowing the
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medication’s purpose helps pharmacists avoid confusion between
products with look-alike names, as most products with similar
names are used for different purposes. It also allows a double
check to occur because the pharmacist is able to verify that the
medication is being used appropriately for the patient’s condition,
and that it is dosed properly for its intended use.

The same arguments hold true for medication reconciliation. It
is not a violation of the HIPA A privacy rules for community phar-
macies to share patient information for the purposes of reconciling
apatient’s medication profile with hospitals because the minimum
necessary rule does not apply when protected health information
is disclosed between providers treating the same patient.

Seven years later, the best advice is still to use common sense
when applying the HIPAA rules so that patient privacy and safety
are not compromised.

USP Standards for Heparin Products May
Require Dosage Adjustments

Heparin products using new standards began shipping on
October 8, 2009, and may require that dosages are adjusted to
achieve consistent potency, according to a FDA alert. New manu-
facturing controls issued by United States Pharmacopeia (USP)
were adopted for heparin to guard against potential contamina-
tion. Included in the new controls were changes in the unit dose,
making heparin about 10% less potent than the former unit used.
More information can be found at www.fda.gov/NewsEvents/
Newsroom/PressAnnouncements/ucm184674.htm.

FDA Issues Alert, Seeks Assistance in
Tracking Stolen Tylenol Arthritis and
Tylenol PM Caplets

FDA has issued an alert regarding stolen Tylenol® Arthritis
and Tylenol® PM products. Pharmacists should be wary of the
following Tylenol products:

¢ Tylenol Arthritis Pain Caplet 150 count bottles with the follow-
ing identifying information: UPC number 30300450838155,
code number 8381500, and lot number 09XMC112.

¢ Tylenol PM 2-caplet packets with the following identifying
information: UPC number 30300450482304, code number
4823000, and lot number 09XMC110.

The theft took place at a cargo terminal at the Jacksonville Port
Authority in Jacksonville, FL on September 25, 2009.

FDA seeks assistance in tracking this theft and is asking phar-
maceutical drug distributors and pharmacies that may receive of-
fers for the stolen drug products, or that may have been sold stolen
product, to contact FDA’s Office of Criminal Investigations (OCI)
by phone at 800/551-3989 or on the OCI Web site at www.fda
.gov/ICECI/Criminallnvestigations/ucm123025.htm. Pharmacists
should verify pedigrees they receive with any wholesale drug

purchases. News regarding the alert can be found at www.fda
.goV/ICECI/Criminallnvestigations/ucm186269.htm.

FDA Warns Companies to Stop Marketing
Unapproved Codeine Sulfate Tablets

On October 13, 2009, FDA warned four companies to stop
marketing unapproved codeine sulfate tablets. The manufactur-
ers and distributors that received warning letters are as follows:

¢ Lehigh Valley Technologies Inc in Allentown, PA
¢ Cerovene Inc in Valley Cottage, NY

¢ Dava International Inc in Fort Lee, NJ

¢ Glenmark Generics Inc USA in Mahwah, NJ

FDA regulations allow manufacturers 90 days to cease
manufacturing of new product, and distributors 180 days to cease
further shipment of existing products. Previously manufactured
unapproved products may still be found on pharmacy shelves
for a period of time. FDA advises that Roxane Laboratories mar-
kets FDA-approved codeine sulfate tablets and is able to meet
the demand for the drug. For additional information about the
warning letters, visit www.fda.gov/NewsEvents/Newsroom/Press
Announcements/ucmi186418.htm.

2010 Survey of Pharmacy Law Now Available

Serving as a convenient reference source for individuals seek-
ing an overview of the state laws and regulations that govern
pharmacy practice, the updated 2010 Survey of Pharmacy Law
is now available.

The Survey, produced as a CD, consists of four sections includ-
ing a state-by-state overview of organizational law, licensing law,
drug law, and census data. Newly added this year, a question in
Section 17, “Wholesale Distributor Licensure Requirements,”
asks whether or not states license or register manufacturers sepa-
rately from wholesalers.

Updates for the Survey were graciously provided by the state
boards of pharmacy. In addition to the state boards of pharmacy’s
support, this year NABP requested data from numerous outside
organizations for the Survey s prescribing authority and dispensing
authority laws in Sections 24 and 25.

The Survey can be purchased for $195 by visiting the publica-
tions section of the NABP Web site at www.nabp.net, downloading
the publications order form, and mailing it to NABP Headquarters
with a check or money order made payable to NABP. Credit card
payments are accepted by phone.

All final-year pharmacy students receive the Survey free of
charge through the generous sponsorship of Purdue Pharma L.P.

For more information on the Survey, please contact customer
service via phone at 847/391-4406 or via e-mail at custserv(@
nabp.net.
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With this you could have live hours that were ACPE-approved
and it would apply toward both the ACPE requirement and the live
requirement.

You could also have live hours that were Board-approved and
home study ACPE hours. It can work out many different ways so
here is an example.

¢ One hour live ACPE

One hour live Board-approved

Four hours live ACPE

Six hours ACPE home study (non-live)
One hour ACPE home study (non-live)
Three hours Board-approved non-live

* & & o o

In this example, you would have 16 hours total CE so far with
six hours being live format and 12 hours of ACPE-accredited CE.

So with these 16 hours you have already met the ACPE require-
ment but in your final 14 hours you would still need to attend six
live hours in some setting. Please remember that Board regulations
require pharmacists to retain certificates of participation for proof
of continuing education for a period of four years.

Disease State Management Programs
Underway

Regulation 09 — Pharmaceutical Care/Patient Counseling was
modified during the October 2009 Board meeting to remove lan-
guage from the regulation that provides for credentialing in disease
state management related to an organization that no longer exists
and no longer offers credentialing. During the October meeting, the
Board of Pharmacy approved the colleges of pharmacy in Arkansas
to deliver a program for disease state management for pharmacists.
Since that time, this program has been developed with a targeted
date of January 31, for a CE program which will be presented by
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College
of Pharmacy faculty. There are also plans to present this program
during the Arkansas Pharmacists Association Annual Convention
in Fort Smith, AR, this June. For information regarding future dates
for this program, please contact the UAMS College of Pharmacy —
Office of Continuing Pharmacy Education at 501/686-5396.

FDA Adverse Events Toll-Free Number

The Board of Pharmacy would like to remind community
pharmacists that every prescription dispensed after July 1, 2009, is
required by Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to contain the

statement, “Call your doctor for medical advice about side effects.
You may report side effects to the FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088.” This
statement may be distributed to patients in one of five ways.

¢ on asticker attached to the unit package, vial, or container of the
drug product;

on a preprinted pharmacy prescription vial cap;
on a separate sheet of paper;
in consumer medication information; or

* & o o

in the appropriate FDA-approved medication guide that contains
the side effects statement.

Combat Methamphetamine Epidemic Act

Please remember that your self-certification through the Drug
Enforcement Administration (DEA) for selling pseudoephedrine
and ephedrine containing products must be renewed annually. This
can be completed through the DEA Web site at www.deadiversion
.usdoj.gov/meth/index.html.

Special Notice about the Arkansas State
Board of Pharmacy Newsletter

The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy has designated this News-
letter as an official method to notify pharmacists licensed by the
Board about information and legal developments. Please read this
Newsletter and keep it for future reference because this Newsletter
will be used in hearings as proof of notification of the Newsletter’s
contents. Please contact the Board Office (501/682-0190) if you
have questions about any of the articles in this Newsletter.

Arkansas Pharmacy Support Group Help Line
870/636-0923
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John Kirtley, PharmD - State News Editor

Carmen A. Catizone, MS, RPh, DPh - National News Editor
& Executive Editor

Larissa Doucette - Communications Manager
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